in which Bethy ponders…

I was going to do this post about how difficult it apparently is to find a decent cup of tea outside of the UK, but then I started thinking about candles.
image

I like candles. I burn a lot of candles. I don’t wear purple crushed velvet and listen to Sonic Youth (the dream of the 90s is alive in Portland) but I do burn candles.  I then started to wonder – where does the wax go? Does it just disappear or have I breathed in a whole load of candles to go with all the cat hair in the air?

For the answer we turn to science! Yay science!

According to science the burning wax (paraffin) turns to carbon dioxide and water vapour, and the wax does actually burn up almost entirely. So I am not creating some sort of Madame Tussauds version of me inside. Phew. Thanks science!

Yeah! Science bitch!

Leave a Reply

