in which Bethy wants to start again

Do you ever get that feeling where you look around at all your belongings and just think about throwing out the whole darn lot? I do. I think about it a lot. I don’t think I could ever do it, because I like things. I like my things, and as they are mine why should I get rid of them? Silly really. I do have a lot of stuff though. A lot of stuff that moved from my parents’ house, to my first house, to my second house, to my tiny flat (I did get rid of lots of stuff then, including a husband – ha! 🙂 ) and now to our duplex. Ok so not all of the stuff is mine now, but I still have a lot of random crap.

*remembers that she needs to feed Princess… goes to feed Princess…*

Princess still hates me.

Anyway, I wonder if a physical declutter will help my mind. I am a hoarder, but not in the sense of those people on the programmes. I don’t have a small path through mountains of things in my home. I have things and have good intentions of doing something with them – my endless craft supplies for example – and nothing ends up happening. Though I did make an autumn wreath with squirrels and acorns on. That actually happened. I also hoard thoughts. I remember most things going back to when I was very very small, and not just from photographs. Vicki once told a waitress that I was like Rain Man. She’s not far off. It’s this constant barrage of thoughts and memories that makes me come to a complete standstill sometimes – I just can’t concentrate.

I asked Ant last night what 5 things he’d save if there was a fire. We made the assumption that the cats and each other were already accounted for. He couldn’t think of anything. I said I’d take my external hard drive because it has all my photos on it from forever and my handbag (girls are clever see – we have everything we need in our handbags so this one item can often count for 20 things!). Even though I have so many lovely things I couldn’t think of a single other thing that I would save, nothing that couldn’t be replaced. My records maybe. I should get a big case for them so they’re easier to transport. There, see – in considering decluttering I just think of ways to store the things instead of rehoming them!

We’re almost certainly moving home in the new year (to a house, with 2 floors to hide all the things in!). I don’t want to move all the things again. I think a car boot is in order. That idea in itself is dangerous – sell my things, acquire other things! No. I must be strong. If I start decluttering then I must finish decluttering and not just get rid of 3 things and move all the other things around so they look different! Also this will mean that people will potentially give me money for the things.  Money is good.

We’ll see anyway.

 

 

Now Playing:Some Nights by Fun.

Leave a Reply

