Nature Nurture

I bloody love Dinosaur Pile-Up. Even though I keep getting told off for saying “rad” in my description of them I can’t think of anything more accurate. They are so so good, and last night’s gig was no different.IMG_20130715_213826

They rocked my little socks off so they did! I danced. A lot. My poor battered Converse enjoyed themselves as they’ve been enjoying gigs for over 10 years now.

I’d been promising Matt that next time they came to Cardiff I’d bring them cookies, so Sunday afternoon (the hottest damn day of the year) was spent fighting with the oven to make cookies. They enjoyed the cookies. Score.

DPU were supported by Max Raptor and Tigercub. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy Max Raptor quite as much as I did. They’re pretty hardcore, much more so than I usually listen to (sort of like Gallows, only I don’t like Gallows) but a really great live act. I think that’s what clinched it for me. They had so much energy and presence. Indeed Wil was literally in our faces during their set. Chris and Matt on guitar and bass were something else. They started off well groomed with slick rockabilly hair and EXPLODED with rock when they played! Boom! I actually think I was almost moshing. Almost. “Rocking out in the corner” is how Matt described it. I’ll take that.

Tigercub I absolutely LOVED. I met them at the bar before the gig “Hello, Tigercub!” and had a little chat. They’re all hair and long legs and awesome. If you, like me, pine for the college rock of the 1990s then Tigercub are for you. If you like good rock music, then Tigercub are for you.IMG_20130715_215927 I was blown away by Jimi’s mad skills on the bass. As you may be aware, I’m soft for an awesome bassist and he made it look effortless. Every bass player last night was amazing. Blew. My. Mind.

This post cannot accurately convey the absolute joy that I had in watching all these bands last night. So much talent in one small room. I would urge the world to give them a listen and maybe buy a CD. Or a tote bag. It’s great bands like this that should be the future, not mass produced plastic singing competition winners. These boys put their hearts into their music, and they damn well deserve the recognition. I would be so proud if DPU got to the top 10. I could say “I made cookies for them”. That would indeed be totally rad.

Leave a Reply

