Music Monday

If you follow me on Twitter or are lucky enough to have spoken to me last week, it will come as no surprise to you that my Music Monday recommendation this week is the lovely Tigercub.

Imagine that The Kinks and Nirvana went into the machine from The Fly. That’s TIgercub. Melodic trashy neu-grunge that gets stuck in your head and you don’t want it to leave. I woke up with Little Rope stuck in my head this morning. Rad.

Official Tigercub press photo. I didn't take this, though I wish I had done.

L-R – James, Jimi, Jamie
The nicest guys in rock aside from Dave Grohl.

I’ve been stalking the 3 J’s for a week now, best stalking ever. On Friday night we drove over to Bristol to see them and Dinosaur Pile-Up. Again. Best random decision made on a Tuesday night ever. The gig was immense. It was in a little room (half the size of upstairs at Buffalo) at a place called The Louisiana. Nice. It had aircon, which was really nice but totally ineffective once DPU came on and absolutely caned it. Sweat everywhere. We could have drowned. There was a sort of pseudo-moshpit, and I might have invaded the stage just a little bit. Anyway, back to Tigercub.

DSC_2704

They had a red light thing going on, so all my photos are red (not bad from my phone mind, well done Sony – it’s great when it works). I got another shout out from the band, because I’m awesome.DSC_2708

Let’s just take a moment to be in awe of Jimi and his amazing bass skills. Yes, I do have a soft spot for bass players but he really is very very good and I am jealous.DSC_2709

I really hope they come back to Cardiff (or somewhere nearby, have car will travel). If you get the chance to see them play live then bloody well do so. Take them some cookies or something, I’ve learned this week that bands LOVE cookies. Ask Dinosaur Pile-Up, they’ll tell you.

Here’s their video for Little Rope. Watching this makes me feel like it’s 1995 and we’ve just got cable. I spent hours watching MTV. I could tolerate Edith Bowman and Cat Deeley back then, just about. I remember Donna Air announcing that Rod Hull had died (they’d been taking the piss out of him a few days before). So 90s was the best music programme around, with epic things like “Pants Win Prizes” where you had to send in your songs with one word changed to pants. Earl and Asif (Asif Funky Noodle, with his funky noodle dance) came up with my absolute favourite – If White America Told The Truth For One Day It’s Pants Would Fall Apart. Amazing. I always had a tape in the video ready to record my favourite songs. I think I had The New Pollution by Beck on one tape about 14 times. Heck, it’s a great video!

Keep up with all the Tigercub action on their SoundcloudFacebook and Twitter pages. Tell ’em Beth sent you 🙂

Leave a Reply

