Decemblog

Did you miss me?

It’s December 1st and that officially is the start of Christmas for me. It’s the same month and everything. It’s even snowing on WordPress. I love that.

Today I put the tree up, as I do every year on the 1st. I wasn’t really feeling it today, mind. Not sure why. I seem to have to force myself to enjoy things that I usually love. I blame Cameron, the ham-faced gimp. Anyway, I put the lights on the tree and plugged them in. Dead. My trusted John Lewis lights died. On the tree. Ugh. Cancel Christmas. So Ant decides that we should get new ones. Off we go to Tesco at 9pm. 100 lights, half price, £4. Score! We bought some custard creams too, because custard creams. Get home, feeling a bit more with it, and plug the lights in. They work!  Yay! BUT as I unravel them they stop working. NOOOOOOO!!  Why do you test me so, God of string lights?! We took out every bulb and the fuse. Nothing. Back to Tesco at 10pm! No way am I not having lights on my tree tonight. I’m too involved now. 10.40pm and there are lights on the tree. Also on the tree are my old lights that belonged to my nan and are older than I am. TAKE THAT, STRING LIGHT MANUFACTURERS. I’m not doing any more to the tree tonight. I might leave it naked as some sort of hipster protest. Nah. I have about 600 baubles to go on it. That’s a full day’s work.

I am aware that I have used too many tenses in the above story. I don’t care. It’s sausage to me.

Today’s festive musical offering comes from the lovely Gruff Rhys. Enjoy.

image

Spotify link.

Leave a Reply

